Clerk's Division


Clerk's Division  |  Assessor's Division  |  Recorder's Division  |  Elections Division


The County Clerk is authorized to issue marriage licenses and perform civil marriages.  The County Clerk is also the official filing location for certain other official documents, such as:


  • Vital records of birth, death or marriage
  • Fictitious Business Name Statements
  • Oaths of Officials and official bonds
  • Powers of attorney
  • Professional registrations
  • Environmental impact reports
  • Passport applications
  • Conflict of Interest Statements

The County Clerk is a source of public information and provides customer service to the general public, government agencies, and the private sector.  Records are made available to the public as allowed by law.  Copying and certifications costs may apply.  Payment types accepted in the office are cash, check and credit or debit card (Visa & Mastercard only). Payment types via mail are limited to checks at the time. All checks must be payable against a USA bank.


Clerk's Office

Same-Sex Marriage License

On June 26, 2013, the Vital Records Division of the California Department of Public Health notified us that as soon as the stay of injunction against Proposition 8 is lifted by the 9th Federal Circuit Court, same-sex marriage licenses will be issued. This will take about a month or more. As soon as we are notified that the stay is lifted, we will post that information.


Supreme Court Ruling on Proposition 8 Stands; No Same-Sex Marriage in California - For Now.

On Tuesday, May 26, 2009, the California Supreme Court in a 6-1 ruling upheld the November initiative, Proposition 8, which amended the California Constitution to define marriage as the union of a man and a woman. Continue

Clerk's Office

Facts & Figures


Number of births in SMC in 2010:  5,481


Number of deaths in SMC in 2010:  4,524


Number of marriage licenses issued in SMC in 2010:  3,456


Marriage certificates (licenses returned after the ceremony): 3,318


Number of weddings performed at the County Chapel in 2010:  929


The County Clerk's Division is located at 555 County Center, 1st Floor, Redwood City.


Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.



 Driving Directions | View Larger Map