Homeowner Resources

Property Tax Savings Programs: Disaster Relief


If a calamity such as fire, earthquake or flood damages or destroys your property, you may be eligible for property tax relief, provided the loss exceeds $10,000. In such cases, the San Mateo County Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder's Office, Assessor's Division will reappraise the property to reflect its damaged condition. If the property is rebuilt in a like or similar manner to the original, the property will retain its previous value for tax purposes.




To qualify for property tax relief, you must file a calamity claim form with the Assessor's Division within one year from the date the property was damaged or destroyed.


Other Property Tax Programs


Builder's Exclusion Homeowner Exemption
Disabled Veteran's Exemption Institutional Exemptions
Homeowner Assistance Property Tax Assistance
Properties Acquired by Governmental Entities Property Tax Relief/Market Value Decline
Property Tax Postponement Senior Exemptions for Special School Parcel Taxes
Reappraisal Exclussion for Seniors or Disabled